Mid-South Eventing & Dressage Association

MSEDA Annual Meeting & Awards Banquet Recap

02/08/2016 1:43 PM | Deleted user

By Jen Roytz

The Mid-South Eventing and Dressage Association’s annual meeting and awards banquet was held on January 30th and 31st in Lexington, Kentucky and included a wide arrange of speaker topics, updates and, of course, the year-end awards for the 2015 competition season.

Photo by Suzanne Fischer

The featured educational speaker on Saturday was internationally renowned coach, clinician and author Daniel Stewart. Stewart, who has trained riders to success in various World Championships, World Equestrian Games and Olympics, also gave a riding clinic on Sunday and Monday at the Kentucky Horse Park.

Sunday’s MSEDA board meeting covered a wide range of topics, including updates and takeaways from the USEA and USDF conventions, the unveiling of the new MSEDA website and the election of six new MSEDA board members for 2016: Kristin Posner (VP, Dressage), Cheryl Steele (Treasurer), Julie Congleton (Central Seat), Chelsea Smith (Central Seat), Megan Carr (Western Seat) and Eric Sampson (Northwestern Seat).

The highline of the weekend was Saturday evening’s 2015 MSEDA Awards Banquet, which honored all year-end award winners. Special award winners include:

Volunteer Julep Cups

Debbie Hinkle- 158 hours

Millard Spencer- 140.5 hours

Vicki Baumgardner- 124.5 hours

Ron McGinley- 123.5 hours

Carol Robertson- 121.5 hours

Shelley Ryan- 101.5 hours

Leigh Ann Robertson- 95.5 hours

Rudy Vogt-90.5 hours

Thomas Bell- 87.5 hours

Mary Ann Andres- 83.5 hours

Lori Snyder- 81.5 hours

Margorie Hines- 80.5 hours

Special Recognition Awards

Mary Margaret Sterling

Lynn Anthony Miles

MSEDA Grants for 2016

Anastasia Curwood $500

Susan Harris $1,000

Christine Brown Memorial Grant (2016)

Katie Hagerty- $1,500

Dressage Show of the Year (2015)


Horse Trials of the Year (2015)

Midsouth Pony Club Horse Trials

Kob Ryen Memorial Trophy

Mary Margaret Sterling

Dressage High Point Junior Rider

Mary Grace Timmons

Dressage High Point Young Rider

Madison Deaton

Dressage High Point Senior Rider

Joan Gariboldi

Dressage High Point Master Rider

Catherine B. Jacob (tie)

Susan Posner (tie)

Dressage High Point Adult Amateur

Catherine B. Jacob

The Spy Games Memorial Trophy Dressage High Point Award

Susan Posner and Tympani

The Tundra Memorial Trophy Dressage High Point Mare

Aryus (tie) owned by Catherine B. Jacob

Brunswik (tie) owned by Catherine B. Jacob

The Craig Bryant Memorial Trophy Eventing High Point Junior Rider

Paige Pence

Eventing High Point Young Rider

Chelsea Kolman

The Bennet Trophy Eventing High Point Senior Rider

 Megan Moore

The Helmut Graetz Trophy Eventing High Point Master Rider

Alston Kerr

The Midnight Sam Memorial Trophy Eventing High Point Award

Sir Earl Grey owned by Alston Kerr

The Philosopher Trophy Eventing High Point Mare

Miss Airheart owned by Mandy Alexander

The Grasshopper Trophy High Point MSEDA OTTB

Miss Airheart owned by Mandy Alexander

The Bryn Wilborn Memorial Trophy for MSEDA members who competed at the NAJYRC Championships

Paige Pence and Class Action

Hope Walden and Lily Langtry

Mary Peabody Camp and Rivertown Lad

Click here to see the full list of year-end award winners.

Midsouth Eventing & Dressage Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

MSEDA’s mission is to promote and preserve the sports of Eventing and Dressage in the Mid-South area, by providing leadership and education to its members and the community at large. To further these goals, MSEDA will provide educational opportunities, fair and safe competitions, promote the welfare of the horse and rider and reward the pursuit of excellence from the grass roots to the FEI level.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software